You are here: Home / Research / Royal Society Clifford Paterson Lecture 2014

Royal Society Clifford Paterson Lecture 2014

Awarded to Professor Polina Bayvel FREng

Many congratulations to Professor Polina Bayvel who has been awarded the 2014 Clifford Paterson Prize Lecture for her fundamental research in high bandwidth digital communications and nonlinear optics.

The Clifford Paterson Lecture is given biennially on any aspect of engineering. It is aimed at scientists working in modern and popular fields such as new media technologies and consumer electronics. The lectureship was originally endowed by The General Electric Company in memory of Clifford Paterson FRS (PDF), who founded the GEC Research Laboratories in 1919. Originally the lectures were given on electrical science and technology but this was subsequently broadened to any aspect of engineering. The first lecture was given in 1975. Previous recipients of the award from the department have included Alec Cullen (1984), John E Midwinter (1983), Cyril Hilsum (1981) and Sir Eric A Ash (1978), three of whom are its former Heads.