You are here: Home / Research / Congratulations to Professor Sir Michael Pepper!

Congratulations to Professor Sir Michael Pepper!

Elected as member of Academia Europaea
Congratulations to Professor Sir Michael Pepper!

Professor Sir Michael Pepper

Congratulations to Professor Sir Michael Pepper on his election as a member of Academia Europaea. The Institute has also appointed him this year's Cockroft-Walton Lecturer, in the course of which he will undertake a lecture tour of research institutes in India.

Only last month, Professor Sir Pepper was also awarded an Honorary Fellowship by the Institute of Physics. With the London Centre for Nanotechnology, he is the Principal Investigator for a £6.5m EPSRC Programme Grant looking at Nanoelectronic Based Quantum Physics - Technology and Applications

About the Academia Europaea (The Academy of Europe)

The Academia Europaea is a functioning European Academy of Humanities, Letters and Sciences, composed of individual members. Membership is by invitation. Invitations are made only after peer group nomination, scrutiny and confirmation as to the scholarship and eminence of the individual in their chosen field. Election is confirmed by the Council of the Academia. Members are drawn from across the whole European continent. Members also include European scholars who are resident in other regions of the world. Current membership stands at around 2300. Amongst them are thirty-eight Nobel Laureates, several of whom were elected to the Academia before they received the prize.