You are here: Home / Research / Professor Hugh Griffiths wins the A F Harvey Prize

Professor Hugh Griffiths wins the A F Harvey Prize

Receives £300k from the IET to continue work in radar research
Professor Hugh Griffiths wins the A F Harvey Prize

Professor Hugh Griffiths

One of the world’s top minds in radar research has been awarded a prestigious prize from the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET).

Professor Hugh Griffiths of University College London (UCL) was chosen from a number of high calibre candidates from across the world to win the A F Harvey Engineering Research Prize. He was chosen due to his outstanding contributions to radar research and his continuing work to make major improvements in bistatic radar and its applications.

The award is named after Dr A F Harvey, an IET member, who bequeathed a generous sum of money to the IET for a Trust Fund to be set up in his name after his death. The terms of the Trust specify that the money is to be used for the furtherance of scientific research into the fields of medical, microwave, laser or radar engineering.

Professor Griffiths said:

“I'm absolutely thrilled. It is an enormous honour to be recognised by one's peers in this way. Bistatic radar is where the transmitter and receiver are located separately, rather than using a single antenna. This introduces some complications, but also offers some significant advantages, for all sorts of radars.

The aim of [my research] is to better understand the behaviour of targets and clutter in bistatic radar, by making experimental measurements and analysing the results. It should help us design better radars - for applications such as air traffic control, geophysical remote sensing and for defence and security.”

Professor Andy Hopper, President of the IET, said: “Our judging panel were presented with some very high calibre candidates, but Professor Griffiths’ work shone through. I really hope this prize will help him to continue his ground breaking work with radars.”

Professor Griffiths holds the THALES/Royal Academy of Engineering Chair of RF Sensors at UCL, is currently President of the IEEE Aerospace and Electronic Systems Society (AESS) Board of Governors and serves as Editor-in-Chief of IET’s Radar, Sonar and Navigation journal.