You are here: Home / Undergraduate / Undergraduate Awards Evening

Undergraduate Awards Evening

Recognising the achievements of our undergraduate students

On 22nd March, the Department held our annual Undergraduate Awards evening to recognise the achievements of our students. Students enjoyed an evening of prize giving, live music, food, drink and a photobooth.

Undergraduate Tutor, Dr Yiannis Andreopoulos and Head of Department, Professor Sarah Spurgeon welcomed students and then the following prizes were awarded:

IET Prize for the top graduating student and Rank Taylor Hobson Prize for best Third Year project (presented by Jake Godfrey, IET) Ahmed Elnaggar
Clinton Prize, awarded to the top graduating student not receiving the IET prize Annafee Azad
IEEE Project Prize for the best final year undergraduate telecommunications project Temitope Ogunrekun, Timothy Okwii
Rank Taylor Hobson Prize for best year 3 project Danel Mannion, Wai Chung
Departmental project prize, normally awarded to the best year 4 project Andriy Boubriak, J. Walker
Fleming Prize for the most improved student Arm Chantrasmi
Goldsmid Prizes for outstanding students in year 1 and 2: Yuanshunle Qi, Meiru Zhang, Zhonghao (Jonathan) Shi
Dean's list of top graduates, to reward those who excel in their chosen field of study and who deserve recognition for their achievements Brian Low, C. Ho, Mitchell Weijerman
Cisco Prize for the Most Outstanding Female Engineer (presented by Zach Antonas, Cisco Systems) Salinna Abdullah
Environment Agency Prize for the Most Outstanding 1st or 2nd Year Black, Asian and Ethnic Minority Student (presented by Steve East, Environment Agency) Krishnan Varsani
Entrepreneur First Prize for the Most Outstanding Electronic and Electrical Engineering with Computer Science Student (3rd year or 4th year) and excellent entrepreneurial/internship experience (presented by Jonny Clifford, Entrepreneur First) R. Krumins (Project titled "Big Data Processing Pipeline for Cloud Environments, supervisor: Dr Miguel Rodrigues), completed year's internship at Cisco Systems in California.


ONLY FOR 2017: The Michael St John Candy Bursary to 'endow a prize for a worthy student in Electrical Engineering' to be presented to an outstanding 3rd or 4th year UG student with high academic grades and a 3rd or 4th year project that is related to music or audio-visual data processing (presented by Mrs Ruth Neil)

J. Reynolds
Project titled "Design and Characterisation of a Digitally Controlled Recording Studio Microphone Solution"

We would like to thank the IET, Cisco, Entrepreneur First and the Environment Agency for their generous support and many congratulations to all our outstanding prizewinners!