You are here: Home / Business / Industry Advisory Board

Industry Advisory Board

The department has an advisory board consisting of industry leaders who can provide informed advice on strategic concerns and issues likely to affect the future of the department. We works closely with our Advisory Board who regularly monitor and review the programmes to ensure they maintain their industrial relevance.

  • Fraser Burton, Head of BT University Research
  • Dr Nigel Burton (CEO of NU Oil and Gas Plc, Alumnus)
  • David Butler, Senior Engineer, BBC R&D;
  • Emeritus Professor Bill Crossland, Cambridge University
  • Dr Julian Fells (Optics Research Associate, Oxford University, Alumnus
  • Dr Jerome Grelin, Engineering Manager, Smart Fibres
  • Mansoor Hanif, CTO, Ofcom and Advisory Board Member, UK5G
  • Dr Maria Ionescu, Photonics Engineer, Xtera and Alumnus
  • Elie Kfoury, CEO of Intellicasa
  • Dr Salman Malik, CEO of MicroSpray Technologies Ltd and Alumnus
  • John Manville (SVP, Cisco Systems, Alumnus)
  • John Mestitz, CEO of Techna and Alumnus
  • Dr Paul Metzgen, CEO and Founder, Silicon Tailor
  • Dr Bimal Nayar, Senior Innovation Engineer, Network Rail and Alumnus
  • Dr David Price (Chairman, Lontra Ltd and Symertrica and RTL Materials and Telesoft Technologies, Alumnus
  • Raja Saggi, Head of Marketing, Google UK and Alumnus
  • Dr Benn Thomsen, Microsoft Research (Honorary Lecturer)
  • Dr Janice Turner, Product Line Manager, Symetrica and Alumnus
  • Dr Frank Tutu, R&D; Analyst, Smart Energy Applications, EDF Energy and Alumnus
  • Prof Mike Wale ,Visiting Professor (UCL EEE) and Professor of Photonic Integration, Eindhoven University of Technology
  • Prof Simon Watts (Consultant) and Visiting Professor (EEE)
  • Martina Zambelli, Research Scientist, Google DeepMind

Business Related

Please contact our business development manager:


Contact UCL Business


Contact UCL Consultants

Innovation and Enterprise

Contact UCL Innovation
and Enterprise