You are here: Home / Staff / Academic Staff

Prof Hugh Griffiths


Thales/Royal Academy of Engineering Chair of RF Sensors

Room 1003, Roberts Building, UCL

Address:Department of Electronic & Electrical Engineering
University College London
Torrington Place
Research Group:Sensors Systems and Circuits
Personal Web Page:
Telephone: +44 (0)20 7679 3966 / 33966 (internal)  
Fax:+44 (0)20 7388 9325

Hugh Griffiths holds the THALES/Royal Academy Chair of RF Sensors in the Department of Electronic and Electrical Engineering at University College London, England. From 2006–2008 he was Principal of the Defence Academy College of Management and Technology. He received the MA degree in Physics from Oxford University in 1975, then spent three years working in industry, before joining University College London, where he received the PhD degree in 1986 and the DSc(Eng) degree in 2000, and served as Head of Department from 2001–2006.

His research interests include radar systems and signal processing (particularly bistatic radar and synthetic aperture radar), and antenna measurement techniques. He serves as Editor-in-Chief of the IET Radar, Sonar and Navigation journal. He has published over five hundred papers and technical articles in the fields of radar, antennas and sonar. He has received several awards and prizes, including the IEEE Picard Medal (2017), the IEEE AES Mimno Award (2015), the IET A.F. Harvey Prize (2012) and the IEEE AES Nathanson Award (1996). He has also received the Lord Brabazon Premium of the IERE and the Mountbatten and Maxwell Premium Awards of the IEE. He is a Fellow of the IET (previously IEE), Fellow of the IEEE, and in 1997 he was elected to Fellowship of the Royal Academy of Engineering.

He served as President of the IEEE Aerospace and Electronic Systems Society for 2012/2013, and he is an IEEE AES Distinguished Lecturer. He has been a member of the IEEE AES Radar Systems Panel since 1989, serving as Chair from 2007–2009, and he chaired the Working Group which revised the IEEE Radar Definitions Standard P686 and reaffirmed the Radar Letter Band Standard. Most recently, with Chris Baker and Dave Adamy, he led the revision of the classic Stimson’s Introduction to Airborne Radar book.

View Publications by Year - [Expand all / Hide all]

Could not retrieve publications from server: timeout('timed out',)