You are here: Home / Undergraduate / Faculty Medal goes to Brian Low

Faculty Medal goes to Brian Low

Most outstanding graduate of all programmes

Congratulations to undergraduate Brian Low, who has just won the Faculty Medal as the most outstanding graduate of all programmes in the Faculty of Engineering this year. He was the top graduating student within the department achieving 89% for his 3rd and final year. Undergraduate Tutor, Dr Yiannis Andreopoulos said “This is an outstanding achievement and we would like to warmly congratulate you for your performance in our degree.”

Brian said:

“I just wanted to say that it is a great honour for me to receive this prize and that these 3 years at UCL have been particularly memorable. I would like to thank all the faculty and my course-mates for their support academically and in other matters. Special thanks to Professor Andreas Demosthenous, Dr Dai Jiang, Dr Sally Day and Thomas Gilbert for giving me the means and guidance in participating in research. This has certainly been a great three years!”

The prize winners for this last academic year are as follows:

IET Prize for the top graduating student in either programme(two years’ free membership) and also our nominee for the Goldsmid Medal Brian Low (3rd year)
Clinton Prize - normally awarded to the top graduating student in the programme not receiving the IET Prize Coyan Oh (4th year)
IEEE Project Prize for a best final-year undergraduate telecommunications project Benjamin Banks and Thomas Sherborne (4th year)
Rank Taylor Hobson Prize for best Third Year project Brian Low

Departmental project prize

- normally awarded for the best 4th Year project
Nedeen Al Sharif, Daniel Mannion, Benjamin Thomas
Fleming Prize for the most improved student (excluding those who have re-sat a year) Marianna Pittokopiti (4th year)
Goldsmid Prizes for outstanding students in Years 1 and 2 (max of 6 in total) First Year: Rami Chahine, Duolikun Danier, Jia Lim
Second Year: Zichuan Zhou, Meiru Zhang, Yuanshunle Qi

Dean's list of top graduates

To reward graduates who excel in their chosen field of study (≥80%) and who deserve recognition for their achievements;

3rd year: Brian Low, Shi Looi, Ervin Duva, Andrawes Al Bahou

4th year: Coyan Oh, Samuel Leighton, Thomas Sherborne, Daniel Mannion, Benjamin Thomas, Pavlos Charalambides, Benjamin Banks


rami.jpgFirst year student Rami Chahine was awarded the Jackson Lewis Scholarship. He said “I couldn't have asked for a better experience as a first year EEE student. UCL has treated me very well and I am more than grateful to have received the Jackson Lewis Scholarship.”